Waiting Game

Well, the order is placed for the island and now we wait . . . . . . . . . . . .

I’ve continued to shop for items for the island these past few days.  Since it’s been a few years since I’ve seriously built or done anything but fly around in Second Life, I’ve been getting back up to speed on all of the internal construction tools.  And we’ve started to lay out the code of conduct and curriculum for the island.  Who would have ever guessed that building a virtual island would be so much work.  I am actually glad that there’s been a slight delay or the island to come online, as I’ve had a few days to think about what we might need.  The other day it was textures, then scripts and yesterday I went after some of the building tools that people have been telling me to get.  And one thing that I would not have stocked up on, dance animations.  I was told that everyone likes to dance, and to be sure that I have sufficient dance animations for the kids.  I really must say, the educational community that is starting to grow in Second Life is really amazing.  I’ve seen some really great things so far, and expect that the best is yet to come.  I’ve been a “gamer” for the past 25 years (ok, I’m showing my age a bit).  So to finally see my hobby intersecting my career in technology and education is really exciting. 

As soon as the PacificRim Exchange Island rezzes, I will start posting pictures of the bare land and then snapshots as we build it out.  It’s going to be a lot of fun, and I can’t wait until we turn the students loose.  Stay tuned over the next few weeks for the start of this new adventure.

Leave a Reply

