Second Life ABC’s

SL Official GuideThis weekend I am preparing for two different workshops I am giving this month.  The first will be on Monday when I teach our first group of high school teachers how to use Second Life for the PacRimX project.  These teachers will be bringing on a group of graphics and multimedia high school students in a few weeks.  We have an all day in-service planned for Monday.  I plan on stepping them through the basics of SL, and then working them through some tutorials. 

The second workshop is at the upcoming ETC Conference, sponsored by CTAP Region 6. This will be a two-hour workshop.  In that session I will play a few videos on what Second Life is, and then go into some hands on and coverage of points of interest on the main grid for educators wanting to use Second Life with their students.  This workshop will be on a weekend, and the four founding students will assist me with the workshop. 

This weekend I put together a new page for the blog, the Learning Page.  Instead of a handout with notes on where to go and what to see, I will provide this url as a take home resource.  On this page I’ve collected a series of books, videos, webpages and tutorials for the beginner in Second Life.  A few of these will be geared towards intermediate and advanced users, but for the most part they will be geared towards the new user of Second Life. 

If you have any links you would like to see added to this page, please email them to me and I will add them to the list. 

Leave a Reply

