Virginia Tech Memorial on Main Grid

Virginia Tech Memorial

There was a flurry of activity this morning on the SLED listserv as news of the tragic event at Virginia Tech spread.  Several of our fellow SLED members work at Virginia Tech.  One of them soon replied that they were fine, and were not directly in harms way.  Members of the listserv breathed a collective sigh of relief at this news.  This is a horrible and tragic event that will impact the entire nation. 

A memorial has been constructed on the Main Grid where people can drop flowers, light a candle, or just visit for a moment of silence.  I am not sure who set this memorial up, but it has been placed on Info Island at 94, 117, 33 (an education owned island). 

I suspect there will be many visitors to this virtual memorial in the coming days.  I will post another picture in a few days of this site.  Please keep those who were affected by this tragedy in your hearts and prayers. 

Virgina Tech Monument Tonight
Virginia Tech Memorial tonight at 11:30pm PDT

6 responses to “Virginia Tech Memorial on Main Grid

  1. Kevin K. (32 y.o.)

    I am from the roanoke valley and I now live in Charlotte, NC. I am absolutely stunned that such a horrible thing could happen in my back yard. I loved hangiong out in Blacksburg in my days growing up. My heart and my prayers go out to everyone affected by this horrific event. GOD BLESS!!

  2. Very sad for all involved.
    The memorial is a nice idea.

  3. My brother goes to school there….pretty scared for a while. Luckily he didn’t go to class yesterday.

  4. my thoughts and prays go out to all the families in their time of sadness.

  5. MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS GO OUT TO ALL THOSE AFFECTED BY THE HORRIBLE TRAGIC INCIDENT.
    I DON’T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO SAY BUT WE ARE PRAYER FOR EACH AND EVERY ONE OF THOSE AFFECTED.
    GOD BLESS

  6. Thank you. We all need these things. I wake each morning with a start as I remember that is wasn’t a dream, but that indeed this happened in the precious New River Valley community of my beloved Virginia. I am glad to see SL remembering as well. And I am relieved to see that there are people monitoring the memorials and keeping them calm and respectful. It is frightening as I believe that like Columbine changed high schools forever, we are all in for a huge change in the way our universities are conducted. Hugs to everyone.

Leave a Reply

