RealXtend – Alternate SL Client

I got an email tonight about an alternate lightweight client called realXtend. I thought I would pass along the info.

The client can be downloaded from here. It’s only in version 0.21, but I downloaded and tested it on my home system tonight and all went well. The webpage says that it will support voice, but without getting into the menus, I did not get voice off a default install. Minimum system requirements are light compared to the new SL viewer:

Minimum system requirements for realXtend Viewer:

  • Windows XP/Vista
  • A graphics card with shader model 2.0 support,
  • 128 MB graphics card memory and up-to-date OpenGL drivers
  • 512 MB system memory
  • Pentium 2 GHz / AMD 3000 processor

Unfortunately, I will not be able to test this at one of my labs until Friday, as I will be at Sun Microsystems tomorrow meeting with the Wonderland development team, and taking a tour of Sun’s Executive Briefing Center. I’ll post some test results on Friday from my labs using this alternate client.

If you know of other open source clients, by all means email the download URL to me so I can test it out and post it here on our blog.

One response to “RealXtend – Alternate SL Client

  1. Pingback: Isolation and 10 year-olds? « PacificRim Exchange

Leave a Reply

