2011 Exchange – Changes

We had a great delayed trip to Kyoto. After many challenges and delays we had a group of ten students that went to Kyoto this summer. We were able to do a lot more things with the smaller group. It was very warm and humid in Kyoto in June. The students had two weekends with their host families (usually they only have one in April). Overall, it was a wonderful experience for everyone.

There’s all new administration at Modesto City Schools. There’s a new Superintendent, a new person who has move into my old job (Director of Technology), a new teacher responsible for the Kyoto summer program, and a new administrator who is responsible for this exchange program. While I will likely remain involved with this program from the perspective of the University, it is time to pass the torch for this blog. A new blog with a new name will be starting up soon. I will post a link to it when it is launched.

I’ve had a great time over the past five years sharing our experiences with this program here on this blog. I look forward to seeing where this program goes with new leadership, and an expanded support group to make it the best that it can be.

Thank you to everyone I’ve worked with over the past five years on this project, it’s been one of the best and most challenging things I’ve done in my life.

Leave a comment